Bamidele Emerges Leader of 10th Senate

200 0

By Salmanu Isah Darazo

Michael Bamidele Emerges Leader of 10th Senate

Senator Micheal Opeyemi Bamide has been announced as the leader of the 10th Senate of Nigeria, on Tuesday.

President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio made the announcement during the plenary session, saying it was a unanimous decision of all senators of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) caucus in the 10th Senate.

“The All Progressives Congress (APC) caucus of the Senate after consultations has emerged with their leadership which will be the fulcrum of commencing other businesses of the chamber. Akpabio said.

” I’m happy to announce that by consensus the Senate Leader is Sen. Opeyemi Bamidele will be the Majority Leader.” He added.

Senator Bamidele who spent eight years in the National Assembly where he chaired crucial committees, represents Ekiti Central Senatorial District.

He served as the Chairman, Senate Committee on Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Matters in the 9th National Assembly.

Bamidele is a New York Attorney, Member of the 7th House of Representatives and three-term Member of the prestigious Lagos State Cabinet between 2000 and 2011 where he served as Hon. Commissioner in different Ministries and under two different governors.

He also served as the Senior Legislative Aide to President Bola Ahmed Tinubu in 1992 when Tinubu was a Senator and Chairman of the Senate Committee on Banking, Finance, Appropriation and Currency.

Senator Bamidele graduated with honours in 1986, from the prestigious  University of Ife (Obafemi Awolowo University), Ile-Ife with a Bachelor of Arts degree and, subsequently, from the University of Benin, Edo State, where he graduated with a Bachelor of Laws (LL.B) Degree with honours, in 1990.

He is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (Nigeria), Chartered Institute of Management Consultants as well as the Chartered Institute of Local Government and Public Administration, Nigeria, among others.

Bamidele was a Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Legislative Budget and Research in the 7th National Assembly, as well as the Chairman of the National Assembly Budget and Research Office (NABRO) between July 2011 and June 2015.

He was conferred with the prestigious National Honour of the Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) by President Muhammadu Buhari, GCFR in October 2022, for his significant contribution to the restoration, growth and development of democracy and good governance in Nigeria as well as his heroic exploits as a foremost political activist, seasoned legal practitioner, accomplished public administrator, quintessential lawmaker and consummate politician.

Related Post

Your reaction


Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *